Adamawa, 9 Other States Get New Police Commissioners

National News

Adamawa and nine other states now have new commissioners of police.

This is after the Police Service Commission (PSC) approved the appointment and posting of the Commissioners of Police for the 10 state commands which became vacant after a mass promotion in the Police Force.

The PSC recently lifted 14 Deputy Commissioners of Police to the substantive rank of commissioners and promoted the commissioners of the 10 states in view to their next rank, necessitating them to quit headship of state commands.

The newly appointed commissioners include Mohammed Umar Abba, for Adamawa State; Peter Ukachi Opara former Deputy Commissioner, Administration in Imo State who has been posted to Osun State; Olughemiga Emmanuel Adesina, posted to Benue State; Akinwale Kunle Adeniran, Ekiti State Command, and
Beneth Igwe, Federal Capital Territory Command.

The rest are Abaniwonda Surajudeen Olufemi, CP Force Secretary’s office, posted to Delta State Command; Ademola Waheed Ayilara, former DCP State CID Lagos Command now heads the Akwa Ibom State Command; David Iloyanomon, former DCP Administration Anambra State Command, posted to Taraba State Command; Abayomi Oladipo Peter takes over Ondo State Command and Hassan Abdu Yabnet, now CP, Plateau State.

According to a statement passed to newsmen Wednesday by the Police Public Relations Officer in Adamawa State, SP Suleiman Nguroje, the PSC Chairman, Dr. Solomon Arase, told the new Command CPs that they should rebuild public trust through robust partnership.

The statement which was signed by Head, Press and Public Relations of the Nigeria Police, Ikechukwu Ani, said Arase warned that the Commission will not accept any excuse for failure to give efficient leadership.